Jan 23 Emily Dickinson: I Like to See It Lap the Miles

This is a poem also about a train, but by the reticent poet and has a slightly different tone to it.

I Like To See It Lap The Miles

by Emily Dickinson

I like to see it lap the Miles –
And lick the Valleys up –
And stop to feed itself at Tanks –
And then – prodigious step

Around a Pile of Mountains –
And supercilious peer
In Shanties – by the sides of Roads –
And then a Quarry pare

To fit its Ribs
And crawl between
Complaining all the while
In horrid – hooting stanza –
Then chase itself down Hill –

And neigh like Boanerges –
Then – punctual as a Star
Stop – docile and omnipotent
At its own stable door –

This time it is not a god, but a horse. And it isn’t perfect and beautiful sometimes it’s horrid. She does however call it Boanerges: sons of thunder, whish is what John and James called Jesus, so there’s still a connotation of god-hood here, but it is only neighing like Boanerges, it’s own actual voice is thought of as more terrestrial. Probably.

About penneloppe

I like to write horror, dark fantasy and crime fiction. Sometimes, I'll write science fiction, but usually I like to write science fact. I also write screenplays and stage plays. My day job is office work. I live in Seattle and I have a cat.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

