Feb 7 Sarah N Cleghorn: the Golf Links and Robert Burns: the Toad-Eater

I’ll be starting a brand new chapter on Monday, so I’ll continue my irony poetry section. I like “The Golf Links” it reminds me of the stupid, stupid arguments by the current American Right – poor millionaires having to sully themselves with the poor and being made to pay more taxes (it’s an encumberance when the rich have to pay taxes on the hundred thou, but when unions of teachers demand a raise on their 20 thou, they’re spoiled wealthy brats) and to have to be insulted with the title of “Rich”. In the meanwhile, the poor get poorer and the middle is stretched thin. Yes, this is a perfect poem to encapsulate that.

platinum balls

The Golf Links

by Sarah N. Cleghorn

The golf links lie so near the mill
That almost every day
The laboring children can look out
And see the men at play.

This one I added just because the title is too delicious! (And it kind of relates to the theme.)

The Toad-Eater

What of earls with whom you have supped,
And of dukes that you dined with yestreen?
Lord! an insect’s an insect at most,
Though it crawl on the curls of a Queen.

Some more, please?

About penneloppe

I like to write horror, dark fantasy and crime fiction. Sometimes, I'll write science fiction, but usually I like to write science fact. I also write screenplays and stage plays. My day job is office work. I live in Seattle and I have a cat.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

