March 19 Mark R Slaughter: It’s My Birthday (abr), Richard Wilbur: For KR on Her Sixteenth Birthday

Today’s my birthday, so I’ll take a moment to honor it and give a real post tomorrow. But I wanted to chose a poem that showed how I really felt (without it being something you’d find on the cover of a hallmark card).

The first poem by Mark R Slaughter is abbreviated, because I thought it would be funny that way. The poem in its full length is depressing and that is not how I feel about my birthday; I’m quite happy to get another year of life for all its trials and tribulations, but getting older, to quote Pink Floyd, is one day closer to death. Sigh!

It’s My Birthday (abbreviated)

by Mark R Slaughter

Shit.

Here, to contrast it is the joy I feel about growing older and wiser (very happy to leave my young neurotic days behind) and is a beautiful and heartfelt poem. I keep begging science to hurry up and develop that youth pill, so I can continue to be as active as I like, instead of having to slow down. But I have to count my blessing and appreciate the good things that come with slowing down – stopping to smell the roses and all that.

For KR on Her Sixteenth Birthday

by Richard Wilbur

Blow out the candles of your cake
They will not leave you in the dark,
Who round with grace this dusky arc
Of the grand tour which souls must take.

 

 

About penneloppe

I like to write horror, dark fantasy and crime fiction. Sometimes, I'll write science fiction, but usually I like to write science fact. I also write screenplays and stage plays. My day job is office work. I live in Seattle and I have a cat.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

