March 20 Timothy Steele: Epitaph

Still on the subject of connotation and denotation, here is short poem to someone in the past tense. Could he be the honored dead? Probably not he’s referred to not as golden, but yellow. Whatever he left behind wasn’t very nice.

Now, yellow is a nice and bright color, one that reminds me of the daffodils in Spring. It can also refer to the color of urine – a little less pleasant and not so nice smelling. Yellow can also be the color of jaundice – sickly and disgusting, not such a pleasant state to be in – or cowardice which seems to be Sir Tact’s (do I detect sarcasm?) state. Not the best way to be remembered – hope to have something much kinder on my tombstone.

Epitaph

by Timothy Steele

Here lies Sir Tact, a diplomatic fellow
Whose silence was not golden, but just yellow.

 

About penneloppe

I like to write horror, dark fantasy and crime fiction. Sometimes, I'll write science fiction, but usually I like to write science fact. I also write screenplays and stage plays. My day job is office work. I live in Seattle and I have a cat.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

