April 22 Emily Dickinson: a Route of Evanescence

I like this poem because it feels like a Spring poem full of joy and the joy of Nature.

I also like it because it’s Emily Dickinson, a very misunderstood poet during her time. She only published two or three of her poems during her lifetime. The rest of her poems were published after she died, just quick little ditties scribbled quickly onto scraps of paper, yet she is hailed now as one of America’s greatest poets. Even Hemingway agrees.

She was someone not understood, because her poetry didn’t translate to what people at the time understood what poetry could be and so so went ignored and rejected and died not knowing how well loved she would some day be.

I do love her poetry. Some poems speak less to me than others, but over all I always find something to admire in them.

This poem is no exception. It’s simply a description of a bird, but she chooses words that transform that bird into something grand and imperial – perhaps an admiration of Nature that others cannot see or understand without her gentle hand to guide them.

I’m glad for Emily Dickinson, she helps us see the nobility of Nature and how beautiful the world really is. Most eyes are blind to it and see it as boring – certainly not as snazzy as something enhanced with CGI or decorated with hints of Gothic allure. The thing in itself is celebrated and needs no help to be more beautiful.

A Route of Evanescence

by Emily Dickinson

A Route of Evanescence
With a revolving Wheel –
A Resonance of Emerald –
A Rush of Cochineal –
And every Blossom on the Bush
Adjusts its tumbled Head –
The mail from Tunis, probably,
An easy Morning’s Ride-

Note: Evanescence is an ornithologist’s term for the luminous sheen of certain birds’ feathers. Cochineal: red dye

About penneloppe

I like to write horror, dark fantasy and crime fiction. Sometimes, I'll write science fiction, but usually I like to write science fact. I also write screenplays and stage plays. My day job is office work. I live in Seattle and I have a cat.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

