May 14 H.D.: Heat

So, I’ll be on vacation in Michigan and Philadelphia and thus a little less attentive to the blog (though haven’t been terribly attentive the last couple of weeks – sorry, stress and all that). But I’ll get a couple more out before I go to “radio silence”.

For this one, I thought I would share one last “imagery” poem (well from the textbook’s “Imagery” section). Summer’s around the corner and along with it HEAT!

The imagery of this poem does a pretty good job of summing up for me the drudgery of the heat – the part of summer that I don’t like (though I do like that the heat causes me to go outside and ride my bike and take long nature hikes and I’m absolutely forced to go lake swimming – the only way to cool off on a hot summer day). When the poet, Hilda Doolittle, writes, “Fruit cannot drop/through this thick air..heat/that presses up and blunts…” Yeah, it’s that stifling to me. Ug!

ug!

Heat

by HD

O wind, red open the heat,
cut apart the heat,
rend it to tatters.

Fruit cannot drop
through this thick air –
fruit cannot fall into heat
that presses up and blunts
the points of pears
and rounds the grapes.

Cut the heat –
plough through it,
turning it on either side
of your path.

 

 

About penneloppe

I like to write horror, dark fantasy and crime fiction. Sometimes, I'll write science fiction, but usually I like to write science fact. I also write screenplays and stage plays. My day job is office work. I live in Seattle and I have a cat.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

