May 23 Howard Moss: Shall I Compare Thee To A Summer’s Day?

Same poem, different year. It’s kind of funny to hear Shakespeare translated into, er, modern, American English. Not quite as epoch, not quite as beautiful or special and the “translation” is fast and loose.

If you could sum up the poem, you could just say, “Summer is the best, but you’re better -or betterer!!” Yeah, not quite as nice, but I thought it would be fun to post anyways (and for you to go back on forth between the two for a deeper read of the first).

Shall I Compare Thee To A Summer’s Day?

by Howard Moss

Who says you’re like one of the dog days?
You’re nicer. And better.
Even in May, the weather can be gray,
And a summer sub-let doesn’t last forever.
Sometimes the sun’s too hot;
Sometimes it is not.
Who can stay young forever?
People break their necks or just drop dead!
But you? Never!
If there’s just one condensed reader left
Who can figure out the abridged alphabet,
After you’re dead and gone,
In this poem you’ll live on.

About penneloppe

I like to write horror, dark fantasy and crime fiction. Sometimes, I'll write science fiction, but usually I like to write science fact. I also write screenplays and stage plays. My day job is office work. I live in Seattle and I have a cat.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

