June 19 John Ridland: The Lazy Man’s Haiku

Feeling a bit on the lazy side today. In fact, the idea of work feels like a concrete block on my head with a hammer travelling down to meet it. I’m squeezing my eyes waiting for the blow, filled with fear. It’s not that the work itself is that awful, in fact, psyche, the hammer misses and the block falls away when the work begins. It’s the awfulness of the thought of work – the thought of job hunting and all of those wondrous rejections that I’ll be getting – that’s the heaviest part. The thought of all the strife it will cause because I can’t make ends meet weighs me down, makes me procrastinate, but the actual strife is just bearing the cement block, not quite as bad just not very comfortable (and yet I can bear a lot more than I realize).

A haiku can be the capturing of a thought, or an emotion. It’s said to be the capture of a moment, but it really is the emotion or the idea that that moment evokes. Here there is something that is full in its emptiness (a wheelbarrow full of moonlight). The thought of laziness is a full thought (full of shame, full of stress – I shouldn’t be [doing nothing], but I don’t wanna [do something]!). Laziness is an action that is not. Ooo, that’s very zen!

The Lazy Man’s Haiku

by John Ridland

out in the night
a wheelbarrowful
of moonlight

About penneloppe

I like to write horror, dark fantasy and crime fiction. Sometimes, I'll write science fiction, but usually I like to write science fact. I also write screenplays and stage plays. My day job is office work. I live in Seattle and I have a cat.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

