July 11 John Tagliabue: Maine Vastly Covered With Much Snow

Oh, my, aren’t we busy little bees, or busy as beavers, as they say. Here the metaphor is squirrels also skittering, busy little creatures working away through the summer to make certain that they survive the winter (could winter be death? old age?).

The seed is a scripture. But squirrels can’t read and they don’t really worship seeds; they just eat them. So we know that these aren’t squirrels. The seeds though will save the squirrels, give them life in the middle of all of the death of winter. The seeds are that object that saves us when we are in the middle of tough times, or our winter, and there are many (just as we will come to know many winters).

Sometimes, a prisoner will read a bible and a passage will speak to him. It will say something relevant to his life. “Someone somewhere understands me,” he will say, “or understood me.” And there will be this small spark in the darkness. There is something more than this, something more to the life I have lived. A spark can make a fire just as a seed can make a tree and both can blossom up and bring something new and big and meaningful into the life of that person. The fire will take out the impediment in the life and the tree will bring fruit into it. (One hand destroys and the other builds.)

But for now, there is a scrounging in the snow, just quietly going about our business to try to make ends meet. Just trying to make it through the winter that we have fallen into. We don’t know if the seeds will grow. We, like the squirrels, persist. And hope. But we do know that seasons change – “theology something like the flourish of their tails” – something that is inevitable. This too shall pass.

Maine Vastly Covered With Much Snow

By John Tagliabue

4 squirrels
are as busy as monks
looking for seeds; inside the seeds is a
scripture;
nourishing themselves they trace their pre-history
and future;
is theology something like the flourish of their tails?
alert, aware of changing seasons,
aware of other blokes about
they persist in their
scrutiny of syllables.

 

About penneloppe

I like to write horror, dark fantasy and crime fiction. Sometimes, I'll write science fiction, but usually I like to write science fact. I also write screenplays and stage plays. My day job is office work. I live in Seattle and I have a cat.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to July 11 John Tagliabue: Maine Vastly Covered With Much Snow

  1. I like Robert Frost, John Keats, John Tagliabue, and Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, and Willaim Wordsworth. I love this poem by John Tagliabue. My favorite pomes are “Evangeline” and “Song of Hiawatha” by Longfellow, and I also like “I have promises to keep, and miles to go before I sleep” by Robert Frost, and “The Road Less Traveled” by Frost. And “Ode on a Grecian Urn” by Keats. And I love Shakespeare’s Sonnets. And Elisabeth Barrett Browning, Sonnets from the Portuguese. And I love the Finnish epic powem, “The Kalevala”. I love John Tagliabue’s simple poem, “Maine Vastly Covered With Much Snow”.

  2. I love Robert Burns’ Scots poetry, tyoo!

  3. And I love Sting’s (Gordon Sumner’s) song lyrics, as well!

Leave a Reply

