April 1 ee cummings: In Just –

In my mind, April is the true beginning of spring. And why not? It’s not that far off from March 20th. And after all, we know the little poem, “April showers, bring May flowers.” It’s pretty much the only mnemonic that I can ever remember, because it’s so simple.

It’s certainly better than the one that March gets: goes in like a lion, goes out like a lamb. Or is it the other way? I can never remember, and it doesn’t even rhyme!

But I’m worst about the poem about the months which goes something like this in my head, “something, something, something hath November, the other months have thirty-one, except February.” Doesn’t rhyme (shouldn’t it be “hath November, except September?”). And my simplified version is, “February’s the only one that doesn’t have thirty or thirty-one.” And hopefully, we remember which of those months are the full ones and there you go!

April 1st is April Fools day and so I’m taking it light today. Why not? I figured that the perfect poem for a day like today full of sunshine and laughs and the perfume of the blossom tree is “In Just-” with its mud-lucious, puddle-wonderful world of marbles and hopscotch, jump-ropes and balloon men. It’s a good time to remember those carefree happy days when nothing was too hot or too cold, everything was just dandy. At least, on those nice Spring days.

In Just –
by ee cummings

In Just-
spring when the world is mud-
luscious the little
lame balloonman

whistles far and wee

and eddieandbill come
running from marbles and
piracies and its
spring

when the world is puddle-wonderful

the queer
old balloonman whistles
far and wee
and bettyandisbel come dancing

from hop-scotch and jump-rope and

its
spring
and
the

goat-footed

balloonMan whistles
far
and
wee

About penneloppe

I like to write horror, dark fantasy and crime fiction. Sometimes, I'll write science fiction, but usually I like to write science fact. I also write screenplays and stage plays. My day job is office work. I live in Seattle and I have a cat.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.